Logitech Driving Force Feedback GT PS3 Wheel Review

Summary [8.5 out of 10]

The Logitech Driving Force GT PS3 Wheel is an excellent driving wheel with a good build quality at a solid price point that will satisfy any casual or avid racer. Unfortunately not every game makes correct or full use of driving wheels, but the ones that do (e.g. Gran Turismo 5) create a surreal driving experience that will satisfy any driving fan.

For the purist that must reproduce the true racing experience in his or her house, we would still suggest the Logitech G25 (UPDATE: Now the Logitech G27); it is, however, more than twice the price of the Driving Force GT.

Update #2: For anyone coming to this review for settings for games using this wheel, reader Ricardo below has been kind enough to post optimized Force Feedback settings for GRID, GRID 2, Need for Speed Shift and F1 2010.

Outline

What’s in the Box?

It’s a good sized box, about the size of a Logitech 2.1 PC speaker package. As shown on the box there was an instruction booklet, pedals and wheel (with integrated shifter).

What I was really surprised to find in the box, and it might have been a toss-in for some promotion because I don’t see it mentioned on Logitech’s site, was a full copy of Gran Turismo 5: Prologue. If you already have it, then use this copy (if you get one) as a gift I suppose. If you didn’t have a copy, you will be so freaking happy they included one, it does the wheel justice while other games don’t:

After spending time with this wheel and especially Gran Turismo 5, I would have to say that you cannot review a driving wheel, or at least this driving wheel, without having a copy of Gran Turismo 5 to test with. The experience is so much better with GT than it is with other “arcade” racers that it’s a night-and-day difference. More on that later though under “Driving Experience“.

For anyone that has used a force-feedback wheel in the past 10 years, I think the form factor of these things has always been the same. A life-sized steering wheel attached to a tapered base that is fastened to a table or desk of some kind using clamps or grips of some kind; this is very similar:

As you can see the steering wheel reproduces all of the 17 or so buttons you find on a standard PS3 controller. The red wheel and “enter” button on the bottom right can be used for navigation and confirmation as well as in-game adjustments for games that support it (like Gran Turismo 5).

I’m not sure what the split-circle +/- does on the bottom left, I never got it to really do anything in any games.

In addition to the full-sized wheel the base unit includes an integrated shifter. The shifter doesn’t have much play up or down as it behaves more like those auto-shifters (flappers) you find on some higher end cars that let you drive in automatic or shift automatically if you want. It just clicks up or down as you are driving and a spring re-centers it when you let go. It doesn’t click “up” or “down” into position like a gear shifter, it’s more of a toggle action.

Of course you have your pedal plate. I’m a size 11.5″ and the plate felt like a nice size, sturdy, good resistence on the brake and gas and my foot never fell off it or slipped off. It’s a perfect size.

I did find that the pedals stood upright a bit too vertical, so sitting in a chair and playing, my foot was always cocked up when I was off the gas or break. This made switching from gas to brake with 1 foot uneasy for me and I ended up driving with both feet instead; I just couldn’t flip from gas and then cock my foot up enough to clear the brake as I moved it over to the left to push it back down. What ended up happening is that the side of my foot would hit the break as I moved my foot to the left and push the whole pedal pad over.

I would also point out that the pedal pad would be perfect on carpet because it integrates a retractable spike-strip on the bottom of it that can click out, and dig into the carpet. On hard/wood floors like I have, it was moving around a little bit, so I secured it by pushing it up against the table you see in the picture above. I believe there are little rubber feet on it but they don’t do as good a job stopping it from moving as the carpet-spike-strip would if it was on carpet.

Keep that in mind if you are on a hard floor and don’t have a way to secure it in place, I’m sure putting it on a mat on your hard floor would work fine (like a yoga mat) or something else that will cause it to stay put.

Hooking it all Up

As with all racing wheels since the dawn of mankind, you fasten the wheel base that everything hooks to, to a table or desk using clamps that tighten to hold it in place:

If you don’t have a table or desk that this can be fastened to, you will need to get one if you plan on using this. I lucked out in that our coffee table had a lip on it that I could hook to, but I have a friend that has a low coffee table that he hooked the wheel to that provides a lack-luster driving experience as he is bent over the wheel.

Someone else that came over to try the wheel out didn’t have a coffee table at all in front of his TV and was wondering how he would use it; my only comment to him is that he couldn’t unless he had something to hook it to.

The base unit is front-heavy with the steering wheel; meaning if you didn’t secure it to the table, it would happily fall steering-wheel-first off the table onto the ground. You can’t just set it on something and use it; it needs to be clamped down.

Also you will want it attached to something sturdy because you can get to fighting with the force-feedback and turning the wheel and moving quite a bit while racing. This could move whatever you have the wheel attached to in more vibrant racing moments; something I did with our coffee table because it has wheels on it.

For example, if you tried to hook this to a bar stool or something, I don’t think that would work out really well.

After getting the base-unit in place, everything plugs to it into sockets in the back of the base-unit, right behind the shifter. You will plug in:

  • Power Adapter
  • Pedal Plate
  • PS3

The wire length between all 3 of these things is pretty liberal, so unless you are trying to spread yourself across your entire living room you should be OK.

The shortest connection is from the pedal plate to the wheel (understandably, since the two will always be near each other) and uses what looks like an old-school COM port connection.

In what I consider the most important connection, the base-unit to the PS3, Logitech was pretty generous. You have a 10′ or 11′ USB cable to connect to your PS3. In the picture above I am about 10′ from the PS3 and that is about as far away as I am going to get without a USB extender.

The power adapter also had a generous lead on it, which I plugged into the wall behind me, about a 5′ run total and there was still plenty of slack on that cable.

For those curious, the power adapter is one of those “huge bricks that I have to plug in and will cover a bunch of other plugs” types. The prongs themselves are set high enough on the brick though, that if you are plugging into a wall socket, you can use the top or bottom socket without blocking the other one.

If you are using it on a power strip, I’d suggest making it the last plug off the power strip so it hangs off and doesn’t block other plugs cause it will. It’s a bit bigger than a deck of cards or there-abouts in size.

Build Quality

My gut reaction out of the box was “meh” honestly. I have used force-feedback wheels in the past and only once can I remember being impressed with the non-plastic build quality.

However, after using the wheel for a while and playing quite a few games with it, I came to find the build quality above-average. The wheel is solid feeling, it’s got a leather-wrap feel to it, the force-feedback is dynamic and consistent and the pedals were sturdy and performed well. If you want to turn the force-feedback up, the wheel can really wrestle with you, so if you like a powerful experience, you can certainly get it with this wheel.

The pedals didn’t feel amazing to me out of the box, but playing with them I didn’t have any complaints, besides the comment above about how vertical the pedals stand.

The gas is easy to depress but sping-loaded in a firm fashion to make it somewhat hard to push down with your hands. And the brake is firmly spring loaded, but in a smooth, shock-absorber way that makes it satisfying to use and feels more like a real car.

The shifter does feel a little rinky-dink because it’s just a plastic knob on a metal pole that is attached to a spring-loaded click-shift mechanism. If you want that tactile feedback, you’ll want to get the Logitech G25 Racing Wheel.

If you are a build-quality nut and don’t mind paying for you, you really should be looking at the Logitech G25 Racing Wheel; that’s more of a direct race-car replica, complete with metal parts, full shifter, clutch, etc. But it’s more than twice the price of this wheel (just a warning).

Driving Experience

First a list of the games we tried (in alphabetical order):

  • Burnout Paradise
  • Dirt
  • Gran Turismo 5: Prologue
  • Grid
  • MotorStorm (Doesn’t support the pedals, but the steering sorta works)
  • Nascar ’09

The “awesomeness” of this wheel (and I imagine all racing wheels) depends 100%, completely on how well the game you are playing implements it.

Let that above statement sink in… you could spent $900 on a wheel, and if the game you are playing doesn’t have a tuned wheel experience, you will likely go back to using a controller.

Gran Turismo 5 is excellent, Grid and Dirt are… different; even though there are a ton of adjustments for the wheel, I wasn’t able to find a combination of settings for those two games that made them playable for me with the wheel… there is a certain amount of arcadey lag that occurs between the wheel and what your car does that screws you up in tight spots, sharp turns, etc.

You spend a lot of time spinning out and then spinning out more as you try and get straightened out on the track.

Even though you can tweak-out the settings for certain games to get decent results (NOTE: Pay attention to ‘linearity’ and the force of the feedback), I found that going in a straight line was *really* hard because of how the force-feedback plays into the driving.

For example, in Dirt, I set the linearity to 0.00 and turned the force down to about half power. When you are trying to go in a straight line, what happens is because there is no power-steering assist in the game, the wheel tries to feed you back the tugs and pulls that the tires would issue from the force in the pavement, your exact direction, etc.

The problem is that there is a hair of a lag, so while you are trying to hold the wheel straight, the wheel is forcing left and right turns to you, and if you are trying to react to them, you end up moving your car back and forth on the track which builds and builds until you eventually slam into a wall, spin out or loose control totally.

I found that I turned the Force Feedback in these games to the lowest setting so it almost didn’t feedback at all, than I did better. It does still take some learning to get used to how each game treats the feedback though. It’s not a “What you See is What You Get” situation with any game I tried except Gran Turismo 5.

Your mileage may vary and your tolerance may vary, but this was a comment another friend of mine with the Logitech G25 Racing Wheel echoed about those two games as well. Some of the bad controls can lead to road-rage though if you are expecting a perfect-simulation-experience from all games:

I tried this wheel out, along with my wife, our friends and their children. I didn’t see anyone “not get it”, it’s pretty straight forward and accessible to anyone that has driven before. Although the children seemed to pick it up no problem and like the idea that they were racing “for real”.

While the wheel does expand the experience of driving, especially if you stick yourself in “first person” perspective in the cockpit of the cars of some of these games, bad response from some games can ruin that experience just as fast.

Conclusion

After some time with this wheel and quite a few titles, I think I’ve come to the conclusion that if you are a Gran Turismo fan/junkie, and plan on getting it, the Logitech GT racing wheel or one of Logitech’s others is a must-get along with the game.

If you just like racing games, especially more arcadey ones, you should probably skip getting a force-feedback wheel. The wheels themselves are excellent, but they are only as good as their weakest link. If the game you are playing waasn’t tuned for the wheel you are just going to end up going back to the default PS3 controller after a while anyway so you can win races.

It’s unfortunate, but with a lot of the problem titles, I didn’t find playing with the 20 settings or so for force-feedback in most of them helped at all. Some I couldn’t even see a difference between a 1/10 or a 10/10 “Force Feedback” setting.

Areas of Improvement

As with all our reviews, we don’t like to criticize without providing suggestions on how to improve the product, so here are our suggestions for the Logitech Driving Force GT PS3 Wheel:

  • Any of the following individually (realizing that all of them together would increase the price too high):
    • A clutch on the pedal pad
    • Gear flippers on the wheel for easy shifting (See Update #1)
    • A Shifter that included two well-defined gears and not the small-range-of-motion up/down click-shifter that is on there now so you feel cooler throwing it into gears
  • Wireless connection to the PS3 (Is that possible? I don’t know how much data is being transfered from the wheel to the PS3)
  • A chart or guide that has “Best suggested settings” for the most popular driving games. You can spend a lot of time messing with the Force Feedback settings for different driving games. It would be nice to have “recommended” settings out of the box since the sampling of popular driving games on the PS3 is so small, it shouldn’t be hard to do this.
  • MINOR: Easier to reach Start button (for pausing) on the wheel. The phone rang while I was playing a few times and I fumbled and crashed 3 times trying to pause the game. I can’t imagine getting interrupted while driving is an uncommon thing for a video game. Would have been nice.
  • SUPER-MINOR: Working horn button, there is a horn button in the middle, and it lights up and depresses, but none of the games I tried it on did anything. This is super minor, but I like honking a lot before smashing into people.

Update #1: As Dave correctly pointed out, there actually are gear flippers/paddles on the back side of the wheel at 10 and 2 positions, you have to reach your fingers around the wheel and tap the back of the wheel to feel them, they are raised out a bit and easy to tap. The reason I never found them is because when I thought of paddles I just assumed they would stick out like ears.

Thanks Dave!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Riyad Kalla

Software development, video games, writing, reading and anything shiny. I ultimately just want to provide a resource that helps people and if I can't do that, then at least make them laugh.

, , , , , ,

87 Responses to “Logitech Driving Force Feedback GT PS3 Wheel Review”

  1. Erp July 13, 2008 at 4:05 pm #

    What a incompetent and useless review…

  2. radcrap July 13, 2008 at 7:47 pm #

    Thanks! Great review

  3. Riyad Kalla July 14, 2008 at 9:04 am #

    Erp, maybe instead of acting like an internet super-star, you could give some insight into what you thought the review was missing?

    In the mean time, I’m going to leave you with this to think about:

  4. Riyad Kalla July 14, 2008 at 9:05 am #

    radcrap,
    Thank you, we are glad you liked it!

  5. Watevaman July 14, 2008 at 7:43 pm #

    Great review. Although I have already ordered it (saw your review on Amazon, minus pictures), this review really makes me excited for when it’s going to come. I got it mainly for GT5P, and GT5 when it comes out, so it sounds like I won’t have any troubles adjusting it for other games. Thanks for the review!

  6. Riyad Kalla July 14, 2008 at 10:45 pm #

    Watevaman,
    Very cool I’m glad to hear it helped!

    I think you’ll really be happy with the wheel. I did every single race in Gran Turismo 5 with it except 2 of the Class C races and was just consistently happy with it’s performance.

    I actually got it tweaked out quite a bit with Dirt to the point where it was “learnable”… meaning there were little quirks with it but it was usable and sorta fun, but nothing like GT.

    Also the full cockpit view in GT, especially if you move your chair closed to the TV, really gives a cool “omg I’m in the car racing” feel.

    But as a GT fan I’m sure you already knew that ;)

  7. regina July 20, 2008 at 10:06 am #

    is Kelly in her Pajamas?

  8. Riyad Kalla July 20, 2008 at 2:35 pm #

    haha, yea she had early-morning road-rage.

  9. Dave August 1, 2008 at 2:58 pm #

    Ummm…there ARE gear flippers for on-wheel shifting. Check picture #8 in this article. If you put your hands on the wheel at 10-2 positions, they are easily reachable with your fingers on the back side of the wheel.

    FYI…

  10. Riyad Kalla August 1, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    Dave,
    Nice find, I can’t believe I’ve racked up the time I have with this thing, taken pictures of it from every angle and completely missed the gear paddles.

    I updated the review (with props), thanks again!

  11. mitch August 6, 2008 at 3:26 pm #

    How thick of a table can it be clamped to?

  12. Editor August 7, 2008 at 5:58 am #

    Mitch,

    Good question. I’ve got it clamped to about a 1/2″ table top right now, and the clamps open up pretty decently, probably 2-3″ no problem, *maybe* 4?

    Do you have a *really* broad lip on the edge of your table?

  13. mitch August 10, 2008 at 4:46 pm #

    Thats the problem, im re-decorating my living room and i want to get a coffee table that will hold the wheel. Do you think the lip on this table will work? http://www.coffeetablesgalore.com/coffee-tables/rectangle/breezenaturalbamboocoffeetable.cfm

  14. Editor August 11, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    Ahh I take that back, I went and measured how wide the clamps come open and it’s like 1.5″. That lip on that table is hard to gauge from the picture… do you happen to know how fat it is? Could you call them and ask? (nice looking table BTW).

    Did you buy the wheel already? I’m thinking of selling this one now that I’m done with the review. Lemme know if you are interested.

  15. mitch August 11, 2008 at 12:52 pm #

    The company is impossible to contact so i dont know. I figure i’ll get the table and wheel and if its too big ill just make something out of pvc or something to clamp the wheel to. I am possibly interested in getting a used wheel. How much did you want for it?

  16. Daniels August 30, 2008 at 2:29 pm #

    Hy everyone,

    I just got myself Logitech EX to play GRID in PS3.
    The results was the same you got with GT.
    Was a lot better playing with force Feedback off.

    Now I’m wondering about how EX will feel when I receive GT5 game next week.
    I feel the EX wheel too small and the fact it doesn’t turn 900 degrees a low down.
    Here in Brazil the GT and G25 are almost the same price due to the taxes.
    I heard GT5 should be better playing with GT wheel than with G25, or not ?

    EX is a nice toy, but not a real racing wheel replica experience as I expected.
    And the experience I had with Force Feedback ON playing GRID was nothing less than disgusting! I had to turn F.F. OFF to keep playing the game and be abble to finish any race at all.

  17. Editor August 30, 2008 at 3:25 pm #

    Daniels,

    We found the force feedback to be way to high with GRID and DIRT to be enojoyable and did the same thing you did.

    Also the G25 is a much more realistic racing experience than the GT, it includes a real 6-gear shifter and metal pedals including a clutch, the GT is the wheel, a 2-point shifter and plastic pedals without a clutch.

    If the GT and G25 are the same price AND you are going to get one of them, get the G25.

    In general though, unless you are a Gran Turismo fanatic, I don’t see a reason to get a PS3 force feedback wheel right now.

  18. Lefteris September 18, 2008 at 11:02 am #

    I was wandering if the GT has the same return time (to its original position) as the Pro (the first one with 900 degrees turn that was out). Because G25 is 3 times faster and that’s really cool.

  19. carl September 18, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    i like de the gt, i would like it has a 6 gear shifter

  20. carl September 25, 2008 at 12:24 pm #

    Hi,i have a question, do you know if there is a new g25 wheel up to coming soon? because im going to buy a g25, but checking the logitech web site the g25 doesnt appear anymore. thanks

  21. Editor September 26, 2008 at 11:10 pm #

    @Lefteris

    Not sure what you mean by “return time”… I think you mean letting go of the wheel and having it whip back to center assuming the car is going in a straight line right? I never tried this specifically as I was always racing, so can’t say I noticed.

    @carl,
    Good eye, I’m not sure what happened, but the G25 is listed under the PS2 section now for some reason… probably a goof when they reorganized the pages.

  22. Lefteris September 27, 2008 at 12:47 am #

    “letting go of the wheel and having it whip back to center assuming the car is going in a straight line.”

    Yeah, that’s exaclty what I meant! :)

  23. Editor September 27, 2008 at 10:47 am #

    Hah, I had my slow-cap on yesterday, in that case I can’t really tell how fast it is compared to the other wheels, I’ve only used this one, but it certainly felt fast… pretty much like a normal car, maybe a hair slower?

  24. carl October 6, 2008 at 9:34 am #

    What do you think about this wheel stand?
    http://wheelstandpro.com/ or http://www.fanatec.com/ in RennSport Wheel Stand.
    Are they stables?, are expensive, but is the best solution for me, i need to bye a table or something anyway. i just bougth a g25, sorry my english but i speak spanish

  25. Sekhar December 17, 2008 at 10:37 am #

    Does this wheel support auto transmission if I don’t want to use either the paddle shifter or the sequential shifter. That is like the controller in auto mode with no gear change, just the accelerator and brake & the steering only.

  26. Riyad Kalla December 17, 2008 at 4:57 pm #

    Sekhar,

    That depends on the game, and yes most of the games I played had an “Auto” for the transmission setting, in which case you just focus on the wheel for driving and can ignore the shifters totally.

  27. Arturo December 26, 2008 at 12:36 am #

    How were you able to set it uo for Nascar 09??any tips i seem not to get the force feedback well and the car is just tight allthough it might be my setup thanks

  28. Luis February 23, 2009 at 3:25 pm #

    Great review,
    I was wondering what other games might be tuned to this wheel that I acquired.
    Your article has helped me to contain my apetite for using the wheel in other racing games.
    I also have “Dirt” and it took me a lot of time (weeks) just to make it bearable, with the wheel.
    Regards

  29. Riyad Kalla February 23, 2009 at 4:15 pm #

    Thanks for the kind words Luis — it really seems like GT5 was made for wheels and wheels were made for GT5 — the trick being that they feel so *good* in that game, they are almost worth it just for that single title.

  30. HappySpaceInvader August 27, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

    I’ve been using the G25 for a year now and can definitely recommend the Wheelstand Pro. With everything attached, you can turn the top part of the unit around through 180 and then fold the whole thing almost in half to put it away.

    As for games that do these Logitech wheels justice, there have been a couple of recent releases that I feel match the Gran Turismo 5: Prologue experience. The first is Ferrari Challenge, a game that was mostly trashed for being too difficult, but I suspect this is because reviewers were using a pad. It’s a proper sim though and, yes it is challenging (hence the title, I suppose), but thoroughly rewarding because I know that my performance in the game is exactly as it would be if I were driving a real F430 at over 140mph round Silverstone, Monza, etc. It’s also in full 1080p.

    The sequel to that is Supercar Challenge, or which I have been playing the beta demo. More of the same (and in glorious 1080p), but with many more cars (i.e. not just Ferraris) and much improved graphics, weather effects and handling.

    Finally, I know exactly what you mean about Dirt and Grid – unplayable with a proper wheel, however I’ve just been trying the Dirt 2 demo on PSN today and found that works extremely well with my G25. I suspect Codemasters finally got the message!

    • Riyad Kalla September 2, 2009 at 10:37 am #

      Happy,

      Thanks for the heads up on the Wheelstand Pro, looks like the perfect fit for the G25 (or other wheels). Is it a pretty firm experience? It doesn’t wobble or anything too badly?

      Also really happy to hear that GRID 2 is tuned out to work a bit better with a wheel, I imagine that’s a really difficult line to walk being a developer… make it arcadey so it’s playable on a pad, but also realistic if you have a wheel… ugggg.

  31. Damon October 19, 2009 at 10:51 pm #

    Hi, i have problem playing with Grid too, the car just spins, left and right left and right till i hit the brake pedal to a complete stop, its frustrating. Any solutions? whats ur setting?

    • Riyad Kalla October 21, 2009 at 7:59 am #

      I left the defaults alone for Grid but I don’t recall that happening… does it happen with any other games?

  32. Dan November 30, 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    I really liked this review as Im looking at buying a wheel for my PS3 (My logitech MOMO doesnt work…:( )

    I would like a comparaison with FANATEC’s Porsche 911 Turbo S Wheel. It may suit a comparaison with the G25 better tho.

    An update oon your review while using Dirt2 may also help. My friend has the G25 and hated Dirt as it was “optimized for gamepad controls”. I am playing Dirt2 with a $20 PS2 wheel and love it so an update may help readers of your review.

    Good work!
    ZX9RDan

    • Riyad Kalla December 1, 2009 at 9:59 pm #

      ZX9RDan,

      We just got in the new Logitech G27 (upgraded G25) wheel for review for the PS3 — I’m going to pickup Dirt 2 later this week and get in on the review for it, so I’ll hopefully be able to get you that review in time for some early Christmas decisions ;)

  33. gary smith December 18, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    just got this wheel first one i have had and think its a good buy for me have a low table and as a stop gap came up with a plan to be able to use it fixed it to my ironing board fully ajustable in height fairly stable and easily able to put it away and save space in my living room looks a little daft but works a treat fits all sizes and saves my back from stooping lol genius :)

  34. The dude January 1, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    How about some punctuation?

  35. Uncle Jimbo January 12, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    Great review. I’m looking forward to your upcoming review on the Logitech G27 wheel.

  36. Harry January 13, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    it came with gt5 prologue ???? where did you buy it??

  37. Tom February 28, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    BRILLIANT REVIEW!
    thanks alot!

    • Riyad Kalla February 28, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

      Tom, my pleasure. Glad you liked it.

  38. Ralph June 15, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    I have this exact wheel. In nascar 09 how do u turn the force feedback down?

    • Riyad Kalla June 15, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

      Ralph,

      It has to be a setting in the game / supported by the game. While you are driving try and bring up the options screen and see if there is a “Controller” page anywhere, or off the main menu — when I did this review I *think* I did play a game that supported the wheel, but didn’t expose a single configuration option which I thought was odd… I don’t know if NASCAR 09 is like that or not.

      • Ralph June 16, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

        ok thanks i’ll see if that helps or not

  39. Matthew August 30, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    Great Review do u have any idea if this will work with the new f1 game coming out soon ?

    • Riyad Kalla August 30, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

      Matthew,

      What is the exact name of the upcoming title? I am not familiar enough with PS3 racing titles to know which one the “f1 game” is.

      If you meant Gran Turismo 5… *the* racing game to end all racing games, then the answer is “Absolutely yes”.

      I actually have a G27 racing wheel here I finished up reviewing and have to pack up and sell in anticipation of that release.

      • Davo September 7, 2010 at 8:30 am #

        Matthew is referring to “F1 2010″ by Codemasters.

        Aside, did you find any wheel centering problems mid-game whilst using this wheel? I have a Driving Force Pro (basically the same as the GT) and I find if you really rip/turn the steering wheel fast (as you would do in rally etc), its centre position after turning back is not 0 degrees, it becomes anywhere between -180 to 180 degrees offset from true centre. On boot up it calibrates fine, just while gaming it de-centers itself, HIGHLY annoying whilst gaming.

        I was considering purchasing one of these wheels to replace my Force Pro, only if this problem was rectified. Also, my first Force Pro had a sticky brake pedal (no force applied, brake sensor was activated). Not a good run with these expensive toys lol.

        • Riyad Kalla September 7, 2010 at 9:20 am #

          Davo,

          I don’t have the experience with the previous generation wheels to say if this was a well-known issue that was fixed, but I never noticed it during my testing of this wheel or the G27.

          That sounds maddening though, I am sure I would have noticed it with GT5 Prologue as that requires quite a bit of precision.

          • Davo September 7, 2010 at 9:28 am #

            Sweet, cheers for the within-the-hour reply! $99 AUS Logitech Driving Force GT here I come :D

            • Riyad Kalla September 7, 2010 at 11:27 am #

              Davo,

              Be sure to keep us posted if you can reproduce the shifting 0-point on that wheel… I hadn’t heard of that until you brought it up, but that would be something we would want to warn people about if it was a reoccuring thing on those wheels.

              Happy racing!

              • Dave September 27, 2010 at 2:22 am #

                FYI – for Davo and yourself, I bought a Logitech Driving Force GT for the PS3 to play F1 2010 with, and I have exactly the same problem as Davo mentions.

                It even got the point where, after a bit of a heavy crash, it ‘centred’ itself to -180 (hard left), but still thought my wheels were facing right. That basically meant I couldn’t get the car straight, as the wheel physically wouldn’t turn any more to the left.

                I called Logitech and they said to return it, so hopefully it’s just a common issue rather than a fault with ALL of them. I’ll let you know when I’ve tried my replacement!

                • Riyad Kalla September 27, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

                  Dave, we are very interested in hearing what you find out. THanks for the heads up, and looking forward to the followup.

                  I’m curious how they didn’t notice this during QA… that’s a bummer.

                • Dave September 30, 2010 at 3:16 am #

                  Couldn’t reply to your comment, Riyad, so replying to mine…

                  I got a replacement Logitech DF-GT and returned my old one with the dodgy steering.

                  The replacement immediately felt better – even before plugging it in, the wheel just felt smoother. This new one centres itself properly every time, has not yet managed to de-centre itself during a lap, no matter how fast or hard I’ve turned the wheel, and the Force Feedback (which I had to turn off on my broken one because it felt awful) feels pretty decent.

                  Looks like I had a dud, then, and by the sound of it Davo did too with his DF-Pro. Perhaps it’s just a common issue with these wheels, but luckily it doesn’t affect them all.

                  P.S. F1 2010 is excellent with the wheel. Turn all driving aids off and it is an incredibly satisfying experience when you put in a perfect qualifying lap!

                • Riyad Kalla September 30, 2010 at 5:42 pm #

                  Dave, that is excellent news!

                  I’m glad that Logitech came through with an improved piece of hardware for us.

  40. brad September 11, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    what were all the driving options you had fro grid because it is so hard to drive also great review like it alot

    • Riyad Kalla September 11, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

      Brad, thank you for the kind words.

      As for Grid 1, I *never* got it to feel “good”. There is something wrong with how they do the mapping to the wheel, I tried damn near every tweak I could to get the wheel to feel natural and just couldn’t it to behave right.

      Grid 2 was a hell of a lot better and actually felt what I would consider “pretty good” and a lot of fun with the rally races.

      GT5 felt the best by far out of any of them, but I think that was expected.

  41. Dan September 20, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    Your bio says “I ultimately just want to provide a resource that helps people and if I can’t do that, then at least make them laugh.”

    Well mate, the photo of your wife with the wheel made me laugh, looks like she just broke out of a mental hospital!

    • Riyad Kalla September 22, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

      haha, thanks I will let her know. She put on her best “crazy driver face” for that one ;)

  42. Ricardo Batista September 26, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    Hi Mr. Kalla,
    First of all, thanks for your review that contributed a lot for my decision to choose this wheel couple months ago. The price in Brazil is absurd in comparison with other brands, but it is proportional to its benefits.

    As an additional update for you review, I suggest to publish the setup that you and your followers did for your different games.

    GT5 is basically plug and play. However, for other games I spent some time to got a good profile, which are:

    1 – GRID:
    A: Drive Assists;
    a – Traction control: on;
    b – Transmission: manual;
    c – Braking assist; on;
    d – Stability control: on;

    2 – Need for Speed Shift:
    A: Driving;
    a – AI Difficulty: medium;
    b – Handling Model: normal;
    c – Steering Assist assist; low;
    d – Braking Assist assist; low;
    e – Anti-lock Brakes: on;
    f – Traction control: high;
    g – Stability control: on;
    h – Damage effects: full
    i – Gears: manual;
    B – Adjust control:
    a – Steering Zone: 29%;
    b – Accelerator dead zone: 10%;
    c – Brake dead zone – 10%;
    d – Steering Sensitivity: 16%;
    e – Acceleration Sensitivity: 50%;
    f – Braking Sensitivity – 500%;
    g – Speed Steering Sensitivity: 100%;
    h – Inverse Shifting: off;
    i – Camera Y Axis: Normal;

    I’m waiting for my F1 2010 and Dirt2 (Dirt3 expected to this last quarter as well). For these games, I have no idea so far about the best setup to do.

    Specially for F1 2010, follow the list of compatibility:
    Dual Shock 3
    Logitech Driving Force EX/RX
    Logitech Driving Force Pro
    Logitech Driving Force GT
    Logitech G25 Racing Wheel
    Logitech G27 Racing Wheel
    Thrustmaster Run’N’Drive Wireless Rumble Force
    Thrustmaster Dual Trigger Rumble Force

    Best regards,
    Ricardo

    Ps:
    I agree with Dan regarding your wife’s picture. The first time I saw, remembered me that funny cartoon episode of Walt Disney’s Goofy, that drives like crazy. :D

    • Riyad Kalla September 27, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

      Ricardo,

      You are absolutely right about posting the setup details — I should have included them.

      That being said, I really appreciate you including your own here. That will help a lot of folks.

      I’m going to update the original review with a link to your post so folks can find settings if they need them

      • Ricardo Batista September 27, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

        Hi Riyad,
        I just got my F1 2010. So far, so good. I confess that I didn’t played a lot, but enough to adjust some parameters in setup. The one which are not here I kept as default. Take note:

        Steering deadzone: 5%
        Throttle deadzone: 3%
        Throttle sat: 95%
        Brake deadzone: 5%
        Brake sat: 90%

        Ricardo

        P.S.: Even in PS3 it is difficult to our Felipe Massa to win a race. :D

  43. Dave Martin November 6, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    Just picked this up yesterday for Grid, I can say it sucked out of the box, which led me to do some searching and find your website. However after figuring out how to turn off force feedbackamd changed the linear steering to 0, the car is very east to drive now. Maybe since you tried it back in 2007, grid may have done a software update to fix the issues. Anyways just my 2 cents.

    • Riyad Kalla November 9, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

      Dave, very possible. Certainly newer releases of games seem to have better/more tuned support for the wheels.

  44. ash November 24, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    hi bro , i want to buy LOGITECH STEER for NFS Hot pursuit , INITIAL D EXTREME STAGE , and the last is GT 5 (*^_^*) , can you tell me is it the GT is already enough for me to enjoy the real driving simulation ?
    since i can see the G27 is having a clutch pedal and 6 gear clutch .
    i still wonder if i can use engine break with G27 , because i am ussualy using ENGINE break in my real life instead only use the break hardly . hehehe .

    thank you for the review , and please tell me where the review of G27 .

    gud luck and GBU all (*^_^*)/

    • Riyad Kalla December 1, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

      Ash, if you are a GT5 fanatic, get the G27. It feels great and it models the clutch/shifting nicely. That being said, if GT5 is only a minor reason why you want the wheel and you plan on playing more arcady racers like NFS (which is great, it just isn’t as simulation-feeling as GT5) then the clutch and shifter might be overkill and not be as fun. The GT wheel has paddle shifters on it as well, so if you want to save the cash and just get the GT, it still feels great and is a lot of fun.

  45. federico November 26, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    excelent blog !! congrats!

  46. Pinoy17 December 2, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    nice good reviews!! thanks.. :D

  47. Lorvax December 15, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    The USB cable from PS3 to wheel is 10 feet. The power plug from wheel to plug is 5 feet. Is that correct?

    • Riyad Kalla December 15, 2010 at 11:38 am #

      Lorvax, yes that is correct. The USB cable is the longest in the setup, with the power cable being the 2nd longest and the wheel-to-pedal being the shortest (but long enough for any reasonable setup since the wheel and pedals have to be near each other anyway).

      We didn’t have issues with the length of any cabling, we just wished that there were less of them (e.g. wireless). It makes spaghetti out of your living room, especially the G27 which has a separate shifter.

      • Lorvax December 15, 2010 at 11:42 am #

        Thank you very much for pointing that out. As I have my PS3 elevated, the bulk of the cable is gone just running down to the floor. I’d have to get an extender for that. As for the power I’d have to plug it like you did on a back wall, or get an extension. Thank you very much for clearing that up for me!!!!!

  48. Zidane December 25, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    Should i buy this or the G27? as they are practically the same in price.

    • Zidane December 25, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

      oh and Merry Christmas!

      • Riyad Kalla December 26, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

        Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you too!

    • Riyad Kalla December 26, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

      Zidane, if they are the same in price absolutely grab the G27.

  49. dissapointed January 4, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    Hey!
    How come the GT force makes all my cars turn around in GT5?
    If the balance of the car is rubbed while taking a corner in real life, do i let of the gas and counter steer.. I try the same method in GT5 and with GT Force, but i just spins around..
    I kind of make it if I hold the steering wheel the hardest i can with my hands.. but that makes me exhausted playing Nürburgring for example..
    It there some settings i should be aware of?
    please help someone who is about to sell the steering wheel after just a couple of hours..

    //T

    • Riyad Kalla January 4, 2011 at 9:12 am #

      dissapointed, I think you can adjust the “Force Feedback” strength in the settings menu. If you let go of the wheel, the tires will rip it left or right, basically sending you into a fishtail… I’m not a race car driver, but I think that is *fairly* accurate if you are doing 40-80 MPH and the wheel flipped to the far left or right and cut hard I guess you would probably spin around.

      Or maybe I misunderstood the problem and something else is happening?

      I didn’t experience any weirdness in GT5 with the steering. But in Burnout I did. It is so arcadey I just spent the entire time flipping around constantly, it was pretty maddening. I just went back to the controller for that one.

  50. Mike January 15, 2011 at 3:25 am #

    I have a couple of questions:

    1- Can you turn off the Force Feedback in GT5?

    2- Can you lock the steering wheel in GT5 to 200 degrees?

    Thanks!

    • PS3 DUDE May 25, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

      I have just purchased the Driving Force GT for use with F1 2010 on the Ps3…

      I am actually disappointed so far – 900 degree rotation is completely unnecessary for this game and it is annoying that the wheel doesn’t lock to 200 degrees. It is extremely difficult to control using this – is there any way to lock the wheel?

      • Riyad Kalla June 1, 2011 at 8:05 am #

        PS3 Dude, that would depend on the device (wheel) itself and if it has a locking mechanism to limit the rotation. I’ve not come across one that does yet, but I agree with some of the rotations out there with some of the games (like nascar or turismo) that 900 degree rotation is way overkill.

  51. Sauros73 January 17, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I like your review that is not express by expert but by a “regular joe”.

    Just beware of your chewing gums stick under the table LOLOLOL (see picture 6 from the beginning)

    • Riyad Kalla January 21, 2011 at 8:43 am #

      hahah, I promise that isn’t chewing gum… my wife would make me sleep outside if it was. Those are little pieces of rope that were stapled to the underside of the table top when we got it — it had a handle on it to make it easier to carry and assemble I guess.

      But honestly, looking back at the picture, it looks EXACTLY like chewing gum :)

  52. anon April 3, 2012 at 4:53 am #

    This review needs to be redone with Gran Turimso 5 and not GT5 Prologue.

    Two TOTALLY different games.

  53. Gerardo March 16, 2014 at 8:48 am #

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did
    you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to
    know where u got this from. thanks a lot

    My webpage Arcane Legends Hack

  54. Jenifer April 9, 2014 at 4:02 pm #

    Wow! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a entirely different topic
    but it has pretty much the same page layout and design.
    Excellent choice of colors!

    Feel free to visit my blog; techpedia

  55. Armando April 20, 2014 at 1:58 am #

    Disruption”We are heading to see our industry go by means of remarkable transformation by way of the Web and consolidation of agents and firms. Single-family houses and small apartment units do not always work because of the competition and property management problems. That nice house with the pool might actually be a small 35-square-meter building.

    Have a look at my blog post; Milton Real Estate (Armando)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Salar Golestanian - December 16, 2009

    Tonight's project is a hard one. Got myself Logitech Driving Force GT http://salaro.com/20.re Put together the Race table Now got to Try IT

Leave a Reply


− 2 = 3