Dell 3008 WFP 30" LCD Review

Dell 3008 WFP to 2001fp Comparison Picture

Grant Gochnauer, co-founder of Vodori, was kind enough to send in a review of a new addition to his family: The Dell 3008 WFP (yes, the $2000 30″ Dell LCD that has the amazing 117% color gamut).

Above is a shot of the 3008 sitting next to an old school Dell 2001FP (20″ LCD), because of the perspective it’s a bit hard to tell just how big the 3008 is. Here’s another shot of Grant holding his iPhone infront of the 3008:

Dell 3008 WFP to iPhone Comparison Picture

and you can tell from the task bar that this baby is big… and that Grant likes to run a lot of things in his System Tray :D

You can check out all of Grant’s shots of his new monitor in his Flickr gallery. An now for the review, unedited:

So I caved in and replaced my aging 2405wfp monitor from 2003 with a brand new shiny 3008wfp. I know ExtremeTech reviewed this monitor and gave it fairly low marks [6/10] (I’m guessing they got scared by the price but more on that later). Anyway, this thing blows my 2405wfp out of the water for many reasons.. First quickly the pros and cons:

Pros:

  • It’s HUGE. Tons of space. We’re talking 2560×1600.
  • Colors are amazing. At first I was like this monitor looks SO different than my old 2405 and got worried but I realized that the colors were WAY off (according to RGB standards) on my older monitor and I had just gotten used to bad colors. The contrast on the older monitor was also not very good. It was artificially skewed to look a certain way but not the way it was meant to be (again according to Adobe sRGB calibration). The 2405 is a PVA panel and this is an S-IPS panel. Essentially S-IPS are the expensive panels and have the best color reproduction of any type but slightly slow response times than PVA. More on the differences here: http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.aspx?catid=31&threadid=2049206&enter. Response time on this is a “slow” 8ms whereas my older 2405 was like 18ms.
  • Brightness is very uniform on mine. I’ve seen other threads were the brightness was very off center and I luckily don’t have that problem
  • 2560×1600 resolution is the new sex. It’s amazing how much space this gives you. One difference I realized right away compared to my 24” is that I no longer run everything maximized like I did before. I run everything in a window since I have so much space. This allows me to have 4-5 IM windows up, IntelliJ, and a web browser with VERY minimal window overlapping. I can see everything at a glance. AWESOME.
  • Playing 1080p content is like a wet dream on this. Playing that in 1:1 mode only takes up like 60% of the screen space which is CRAZY so I can literally have a 1080p movie playing and a full web browser window open next to it all on the same screen
  • The stand and arm on this is very high quality. The overall build quality is MUCH higher than my 2405. Everything is very solid.
  • Ports: HDMI, 2 DVI-D, Displayport, component, VGA
  • Scaler chip: The older 3007wfp-HC could only run in 2 resolutions: 2560×1600 and something weird like 1280×768. This monitor runs every resolution under the sun. The other thing the scaler does is make games that you run at resolutions lower than the native res actually look good. I run crysis at 1920×1200 and I don’t see the weird jaggy lines that I always saw on my 2405 when I ran at resolutions lower than 1920×1200. I can play WOW at 2560×1600 with 8x AA and 4x AF at 40FPS. WOW – literally.

Cons:

  • 2 dead pixels but they are in corners of the screen and only show if you have bright white over them.
  • I tweaked a few settings from the stock and it looks much better. I only knew to do this based on research and reading about this panel. Joe Schmoe wouldn’t necessarily know to do this or how.
  • Can’t think of too many others.

Pro and Con:

  • It’s so big in fact that if you don’t push the monitor back a little you end up turning your head to see everything. To look at something in the lower left and then in the upper right I had to turn my head. I pushed the monitor back a few inches and now it’s much better.

I haven’t tried any other ports on this besides the DVI-D. It has display port so I should be set for 2008 when I upgrade my video card.

Something I am also realizing is that I am liking the monitor more each day. I have to reprogram myself to think about using all the screen space and as I code and think of things as being windowed and not maximized, I’m really loving it.

Now I had originally ordered this on the website for $1999 but then I found a thread on [H] forums saying I can get it for $1600 with free shipping. More on that here: http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1260150. In any case, I was able to refuse delivery of the first one and I got the other one through Lisa, this dell rep mentioned above for $1600 + free overnight. It saved me about $550.

Full picture library:

http://flickr.com/photos/grantgochnauer/sets/72157603714785001/

from the pictures above it’s hard to gauge how massive this monitor is. In the pictures it’s next to my 20” 2001fp from like 1985. Looking at a picture and sitting in front of this are two different experiences. One way to look is my Vista start bar is double height and look how much space it takes up.

Update #1: Grant sent along an update from another in-depth review from PRAD.de that reviewed the monitor from a professional designer angel and gave all the juicy details you might be looking for.

Tags: , , , ,

About Riyad Kalla

Software development, video games, writing, reading and anything shiny. I ultimately just want to provide a resource that helps people and if I can't do that, then at least make them laugh.

, , , ,

51 Responses to “Dell 3008 WFP 30" LCD Review”

  1. Fabes January 15, 2008 at 4:41 pm #

    Hi,

    Your review was a very good read. I too just ordered one and was wondering if you could post what specs you dialed your monitor in at and where you found info on dialing it in at.

    Thanks and the monitor looks awesome!!!

  2. Grant Gochnauer January 16, 2008 at 2:56 pm #

    Hey Fabes!

    I actually just searched around for websites that help with LCD calibration and read in reviews how they had to tweak settings quite a bit to get everything looking good.

    Here’s what I changed:
    Sharpness from 50 to 40

    Then on my video card I changed the gamma from 50% to 41%

    Overall I played with quite a few settings but I settled on just these 2 tweaks.

    Here is the guide I used:
    http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/

    Good luck with the 3008wfp. I’m loving it!

  3. Riyad Kalla January 17, 2008 at 11:23 am #

    Fabes,
    Just a heads-up, Grant is digging up kick-ass calibration tips over on HardOCP forums.

  4. Grant Gochnauer January 17, 2008 at 1:38 pm #

    You know it homeslice!

  5. Glock January 19, 2008 at 9:06 am #

    I bought this monitor to do Photoshop color work on and the one I got is totally unacceptable for use in that regard.
    I calibrated using i1 Photo through every possible configuration (dvi , vga native A98 Manual factory, default , etc., on a mac using OS X with essentially the same result. If you set a NEUTRAL gray background (desktop) it is not consistent in color or density to the eye. Mine was reddish on the right, green/cyan on top yellowish across the bottom , and blotchy brightness-wise across the whole panel.
    IT IS NOT THE VIEWING ANGLE-as the colors and effects did not change as you moved your head only the intensity of the defect.
    The monitor profiles just fine and the gammut does closely match the A98 color space as they say- even exceeding it in the red/magenta axis, just shy in the green but if you are planning on WYSIWYG color calibrated & profiled workflow this is not gonna cut it.

    FWIW I POSTED ESSENTIALLY THIS SAME INFO ON THE DELL WEBPAGE FOR THIS MONITOR AND THEY HAVE NEGLECTED TO POST IT ALONG WITH THE MORE FAVORABLE LESS CRITICAL REVIEWS.
    I even said that for for less critical applications this would probably be an awesome monitor.
    I have 2 older Dell displays (2405′s) that are not nearly as advanced as this one that I use daily for color work for years now and they do not display the same anomalies as the 3008 WFP .

    ALSO their “TECH SUPPORT” is a JOKE. They read to you from the user manual that you get with the purchase.
    THERE IS NO MONITOR EXPERT TO HELP SOLVE ANY PROBLEMS OTHER THAN BASIC SET UP FUNCTION and CONNECTIVITY

    BUYER BEWARE…. It’s alot of money.

    But that’s just my experience, your mileage may vary…

  6. Riyad Kalla January 19, 2008 at 9:22 am #

    Glock,
    Did you happen to get the 3007WFP-HC and not the 3008WFP?

    I know you said 3008 in your post, but I’m just surprised you would get such a horrible result with it.

    When you talked about the inconsistencies in the coloring, is this noticeable to the eye, or are you getting these readings from a measurement device?

    For example could I make the entire screen a single color, and stare at it and see the shifting hues of color across the 30″ panel?

    That would be terrible :(

  7. glock January 19, 2008 at 5:59 pm #

    RIYAD,
    Based on the technical depth I went into in my post I’m surprised that you question my ability to ascertain what monitor I purchased and tested. In a word; No. there is currently only 2 monitors on the market with display port connections, Dell makes one – the 3008wfp. That is the one I have.

    You asked:
    “When you talked about the inconsistencies in the coloring, is this noticeable to the eye”?

    I said ” is not consistent in color or density TO THE EYE – Mine was reddish on the right, green/cyan on top yellowish across the bottom , and blotchy brightness-wise across the whole panel.
    IT IS NOT THE VIEWING ANGLE-as the colors and effects did not change as you moved your head only the intensity of the defect.”

    YOU ASKED:
    “or are you getting these readings from a measurement device?”
    I attempted to convey that TECHNICALLY it was capable of a perfectly usable profile or characterization if you will, by saying this:

    “The monitor profiles just fine and the gammut does closely match the A98 color space as they say- even exceeding it in the red/magenta axis, just shy in the green but if you are planning on WYSIWYG color calibrated & profiled workflow this is not gonna cut it.”

    To clarify I should add, using the Digital color meter built into OS X and reading the desktop neutral gray across the panel the desktop READS 128 128 128 but looks TO THE EYE as I stated above; making a WYSIWYG workflow impossible.

    “For example could I make the entire screen a single color, and stare at it and see the shifting hues of color across the 30? panel?”

    Yes, create a 128R 128G 128B gray desk top in Photoshop or whatever and see if it is even.

    Terrible is a good description for a monitor that costs 2 grand…

    But gaming or tv watching you’ll probably never even notice.

  8. Romazicon January 24, 2008 at 12:50 am #

    I appreciate Glock’s comments. Finally, criticism of a monitor worthy of reading and one that will single handedly change my buying decision as I was seriously considering this model. All the major reviews I’ve read on this monitor have failed to detail objectively what is important in knowing regarding a wide gamut monitor. Being able to display a wide gamut means nothing if the colors displayed are inaccurate and furthermore difficult to calibrate properly. As a photographer interested in using the monitor for Photoshop work, it seems once again Dell has missed the boat. In my opinion, why even bother offering a wide gamut display? Clearly, just marketing hype for the ignorant gamer. I was hoping to save money and not have to purchase Eizo’s 30 incher but it does seem that you get what you pay for.

  9. Riyad Kalla January 24, 2008 at 7:56 am #

    Romazicon,
    Do you have the means to test the Eizo once you get it in? I’d be curious how much different it tested than the Dell WPF.

  10. Romazicon January 24, 2008 at 11:47 pm #

    Riyad,
    Eizo is not yet shipping any of their 30 inch monitors in the U.S. (SX3031W or CG301W) although they are expected to do so in early Feb. I’ve seen a few superficial reviews from a few European and Australian sites but nothing in depth yet and so I will withhold my purchase until the reviews are in. An Eizo monitor currently on the market that will likely review similarly to the upcoming 30 inch Eizo models will be the Eizo CG241W (a 24 inch model) which has similar specs on paper but a slightly narrower color gamut. There are many reviews on this model and as you choose which ones to read, consider the ones from photography-oriented sites.

    You will realize that while the color gamut of a monitor is important, color accuracy will be even more important. Some will tell you that they can calibrate a monitor well enough with their eyes. This may be true if all you wish to do is play games on your computer but if your income depends on the accuracy of your color work, this is impossible to do. Others will tell you that with a good hardware colorimeter (Eye One 2 or Spyder3), you can make any LCD monitor look good. I can tell you from experience that this is not true either as many monitors are just not capable of accurate calibration. Historically, Dell’s wide gamut monitors have been very challenging to calibrate properly although after a detailed conversation with one of Dell’s monitor specialists at CES in Las Vegas a few weeks ago, I was led to believe that their new 3008 would be different and that they had the photographers and graphic designers in mind, hence the higher price tag. After reading what Glock had to say, I will be crossing Dell’s 3008 off of my list unless some other reputable review suggests otherwise.

    With regards to which LCDs are best when it comes to color accuracy and ability to cover the sRGB or Adobe RGB color space, LaCie and Eizo are probably the top 2 brands except that their products are very expensive. I use an Eizo CG221 (a 22 inch widescreen LCD) at work that retails for more than $5k. This monitor is their king of the hill. Their 30 inch SX3031W will retail for $3000 when it releases next month which I thought about purchasing for my home computer. While this price still sounds crazy, it’s really not much more than Dell’s 3008 considering what it delivers.

    Anyway, before you buy, ask yourself what you plan to use your monitor for. If you decide color accuracy is important to you, consider the follow links to help you out:

    http://www.shootsmarter.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=164&acat=14 (you will need to register your e-mail to view this site but it’s easy to do and it’s free).

    Also look at http://www.normankoren.com/makingfineprints1A.html for a detailed explanation of how to interpret calibration lingo.

    Good luck.

  11. Riyad Kalla January 25, 2008 at 9:43 am #

    Romazicon,
    Thanks for all the info and the links. This is *well* outside the realm of what I ever knew about monitors, but for the other readers coming to this review because they are in the same boat (graphic designers/photography/etc) this information is going to be very helpful to them.

  12. Romazicon January 25, 2008 at 9:42 pm #

    You’re welcome, Riyad. What I am looking for in a monitor may be overkill for you and probably for most people in this forum. What I mean by this is while everyone would benefit from a color accurate monitor, paying $3-5k for one simply doesn’t make sense for most people. I certainly wouldn’t do it unless I had to. It does help, however, to understand the marketing gimmicks that manufacturers like Dell use to convince you to buy their latest products. If indeed their new 3008 monitor is no more color accurate or color uniform then the 3007 that it replaces, having a wider gamut will do you no good. In fact, I would be more inclined to buy the 3007 and pocket the extra cash if I was forced to choose between the two models.

    With that said, if color accuracy and uniformity is important enough to you and you have the means to pay $2k for a monitor (such as the Dell 3008), seriously consider the NEC MultiSync LCD3090WQXi. This monitor is due out in February and based on specs, this LCD will rival Eizo’s new king of the hill 30 inch LCD, CG301W ($5200 retail). The NEC model will retail for $2100 and while it doesn’t have all the connectivity options as the Dell 3008, it has the most important ones (DVI-D and DVI-I…I’m still not sure what advantage the DisplayPort will have over dual-link DVI). This NEC unit is HDCP capable and will display copy-protected HD-DVD and BluRay movies like the Dell but has a faster gray-to-gray response time of 6ms (8ms for the Dell) for smoother video playback. (BTW, when looking at response times, make sure you are looking at gray to gray times and not the misleading black to white to black response times that some manufacturers will quote.) Anyway, I am seriously considering this unit instead of the Eizo but will await detailed reviews. If you are interested, here is NEC’s link to the specs of this monitor:

    http://www.necdisplay.com/Products/Product/?product=4af7b335-9302-4429-8d73-74c35a363b57

  13. Riyad Kalla January 25, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    Romazicon, hot damn man you really do know your monitors. You are right, for my uses the 3007 would probably more than fit the bill (I’m on a 2405 right now and I don’t do real graphic art… just puttering around a bit from time to time), but I do appreciate learning a bit more about these monitors, what to look for, etc.

  14. Romazicon January 26, 2008 at 2:47 am #

    Riyad, before you settle on the Dell 3007, you should know about the 2 changes that were made on the 3008 that I believe to be the main reasons to consider the 3008 over the 3007.

    1) The 3008 has a built in scaler while the 3007 does not. Scalers are what make standard definition video appear acceptable on LCD TVs compared to LCD computer monitors. When viewing hi-def video that match an LCD’s native resolution (in this case, a scaler would not be necessary), almost all LCDs look great. If you’re forced to down-res to something other than the monitor’s native resolution (which you may be forced to do to be able to play certain games at higher frame reates), without a quality scaler, you may not be as happy with the outcome. As Grant wisely indicated in his review, the 3007 is best utilized at it’s native resolution and not much else while the 3008 will provide you with more acceptable quality at numerous other resolutions.

    2) The gray to gray response time of the 3007 is only 12ms while the 3008 is 8ms (a 33 percent improvement). You are more likely to see ghosting with video images on the 3007 especially with a screen so large. This may be more of a big deal if you plan to watch a lot of video or do a lot of video editing.

    Is this enough reason to choose the 3008 over the 3007? Only you can answer that. Since I use other sources to watch hi-def video and because I’m not a hard core gamer, these issues are not priorities for me in choosing a monitor at this time, and personally, I would still go with the 3007 especially since Dell is closing out their inventory of 3007s for $1049. Worst case scenario, if you’re not happy, you have 21 days to return it.

    If it turns out the above issues are indeed important to you, before placing your order for a Dell 3008, you should also look at Gateway’s XHD3000. This unit sells for $1700 and utilizes Teranex’s Realta HQV scaler. Go to any ultra high end audio-video store or peruse any videophile magazine or check out the specs of any home theater front projector selling for more than $10,000 and you’ll soon realize just what kind of a premium scaler the HQV is. Aside from the Genum VXP scaler (which is not being used in computer monitors), the HQV has no equal. For some reason, Dell refuses to divulge what scaler they use for the 3008 except that several reviews have specifically indicated that the Realta HQV scaler is not used by Dell. Furthermore, if you review the Gateway specs, their gray to gray response time is an even faster 6ms.

    I hope this has helped you more than confused you. As I stated before, from a personal standpoint, I would only be interested in these models if color accuracy was not my top priority.

  15. Grant Gochnauer February 9, 2008 at 7:21 am #

    PRAD.de just reviewed this monitor and gave it a “very good” rating which is the same rating they give to the Eizo monitors. They also provided some calibration numbers so you can get your monitor to display the sRGB space as close as possible:

    http://prad.de/en/monitore/review/2008/review-dell-3008wfp.html#Introduction

  16. romazicon February 10, 2008 at 1:03 am #

    Grant, thanks for that link! What an excellent review. Delta E values are what any discerning graphics artist or photographer will look for in any credible monitor review. It would have been helpful if they indicated which colorimeter or spectrophotometer they used. I’ve heard concerns that the quality of Dell monitors may vary as they will sometimes use different lcd panels from various manufacturers depending on supply and that may explain Glock’s negative experience. Nonetheless, you are correct, the numbers posted for the 3008 are in line with the best Eizos currently in production. I am awaiting reviews on NEC’s upcoming LCD3090WQXI but Dell’s 3008 is definitely in the running again for me.

  17. albovin February 11, 2008 at 8:14 pm #

    Regarding prad.de review of the Dell 3008.
    To those interested in 3008 as multimedia monitor – attention!
    Prad.de failed to do a reliable test in the area of DVD and Video.
    Look at their 2707 test. They disqualified 2707 for not supporting 1080p 24fps and improper scaling.
    At the same time prad.de says 3008 does not support “25″fps 1080p either AND their pictures to illustrate Blue-ray movie playback shows 2.4:1 format overscanned and cut off from both sides!
    Nevertheless with tears on their eyes they give “very good” to the 3008 underlining it’s perfect scaling.
    So they awarded 3008 for the same what they disqualified 2707 for.
    I’am still waiting for their serious explanations. See “English” discussion on thier review.

  18. albovin February 11, 2008 at 8:31 pm #

    Link: http://www.prad.de/board/thread.php?threadid=37440

  19. Riyad Kalla February 11, 2008 at 9:50 pm #

    albovin,
    Very interesting catch… thanks for the heads up!

  20. Gordon February 14, 2008 at 10:07 am #

    What is the normal distance between your eyes and the 30″ screen?
    Any thoughts about the desirability or problems with this distance?

  21. Romazicon February 14, 2008 at 3:19 pm #

    With regards to Gordon’s question, optimal viewing distances depend on what you are viewing. With static material (ie text or still photos), the optimal viewing distance depends on the individual and there are generally no minimum safe distances that you have to worry about given the high resolution, non-flicker, and low radiation properties of today’s LCDs.

    When viewing moving images (ie watching a movie), the rule of thumb in the home theater design world is that your viewing distance should be a minimum of 1.5x the width of your image. Some in the industry have suggested that with ultra-high resoltion source material (ie 1080p), this could be shortened to 1.2x the width of the screen. Anything less than this and you begin to notice motion artifact which can degrade your viewing experience. On top of this, with fast moving images, too close of a sitting distance can make it difficult to follow the action and lead to headaches, in my opinion. The width of a Dell 3008 is about 27 inches and based on the above, you should be sitting at a minimum distance of 32-40 inches away for comfortable viewing of a movie playing full screen. While this rule of thumb works for me, personal preference should prevail. When I go to a theater, I generally prefer to sit in the back while many people are just as comfortable sitting in the front row.

  22. Peter April 1, 2008 at 12:10 am #

    My experience is similar to “Glock”. On the up side I must say that scaling is good, at 1m from the keyboard and set to 1920×1200 this monitor gives a good clear picture that my ageing eyes can easily see. I have, b.t.w. used the built in scaler and the scaling on my NVidia 8800GTS card, and there is no difference in quality that I can perceive.

    The way it came out of the box, the colours were garish enough to give you eye cancer. The brightness was set way too high, it took me 3-4 days to find settings that were *acceptable* for desktop and dvd watching. I suffered considerable eye-strain for days (‘gritty feeling’). Acceptable, that is, not good or satisfactory. I can optimize for DVD watching or Desktop, but not both. Have managed to subdue the reds, but the greens are still over-saturated. I am just glad I don’t do photographic work on the computer.

    Then the rot set in: the monitor developed a green tinge in the top right quarter, the bottom left quarter now has a noticably warmer hue than the rest of the screen. The green tinge sometimes creeps along the top of the screen.
    It varies, and visibly intensifies as the monitor comes out of blank screensaver. This is totally unacceptable considering the amount of money I have shelled out, more than the Samsung or HP screens would’ve cost me. I have requested a RMA … so far they have failed to come and pick it up.

  23. romazicon April 7, 2008 at 9:58 pm #

    With reluctance, I decided to go ahead and purchase a Dell 3008 but only after I received confirmation from my salesperson that he personally would facilitate return of the product if it failed to meet its billing. Furthermore, via their small business department, I was able to purchase this monitor for 1599 USD including free overnight shipping (as the monitor had been on backorder briefly).

    Out of the box, the monitor was overly bright and colors were off although I didn’t notice the same uniformity problems that Glock or Peter have commented on. The worst preset setting was Desktop mode. The AdobeRGB preset was best but still off and still too bright. After initial calibration with an i1 colorimeter, I got reasonably close to my preferred A98 RGB specs but I couldn’t get it to profile perfectly and I was left with a slightly greenish cast that I couldn’t resolve. Furthermore, despite setting the brightness on the monitor all the way down to ZERO, the monitor was still overly bright with a luminance measuring greater than 130 cd/m^2. Subjectively, it seemed even brighter perhaps because I’m not accustomed to working with such a large screen.

    My initial thoughts were that this monitor will probably have to go back although I decided to burn the monitor in for 2 weeks and reattempt calibration. I was pleasantly surprised with the performance of this monitor after the burn in period. I was able to profile the monitor to my liking both objectively and subjectively. Colors looked almost perfect with none of the color uniformity issues that troubled Glock or Peter. I was also able to achieve a luminance of 120cd/m^2 with the brightness on the monitor now set to 22. My current settings are as follows: Brightness 22, contrast 50, red 81, green 74, blue 100.

    Overall, I am pleased with this purchase and my experience is closer to that of the PRAD review then Glock’s or Peter’s. While not as good as the Eizo CG221 I use at work, it functions capably as a secondary monitor for both Photoshop work and video editing and is less then half the price of the Eizo. My guess is that Dell perhaps varies its supply source for this monitor and depending mostly on luck, you may end up with B stock.

  24. Grant Gochnauer April 8, 2008 at 3:35 pm #

    Wow Romazicon thanks so much for the follow-up. I’m so glad you were able get it calibrated. I’m going to test out your settings on my LCD and see how it compares with my current settings.

    -Grant

  25. romazicon April 8, 2008 at 4:06 pm #

    Hope the settings work out for you, Grant!

  26. Darren April 9, 2008 at 1:49 am #

    Hi Guys,

    I have had two 3008′s since the start of the year.

    Overall I’m happy with these, I did have a pair of 3007′s only I sent them back for a refund after you still couldn’t use the USB ports on the two displays if connected to one computer. I reported this early last year and got the normal support help, you know, maybe you should format the disk and start over. In the end they tried to get two of these to work at their end and reported it was a bug and should be fixed but it might take a while. I chased this up a few times and after about six months and not getting replies to my emails I called them up. They didn’t seem to have any knowledge of the issue, I left the Dell person with, “fix it of take them back”, she called back when she said she would later that day and said they would take them back.

    When the 3008 units came along I expected this issue would be sorted out and ordered a pair, they arrived a few days later.

    It took a few days to set the two up (match the colours) I also noticed that the display image was very uneven across each diplay, I think it was the dynamic contrast that was causing this, I have it off now and I’m happy with the balance of both. I don’t use them for photo output, I’m an engineer and use them for EDA and CAD work. None of the presets looked any goodd to me also or matched between the two.

    Now, to the reason I came here, to post two other issues.

    The 3007 was much faster to display the image when coming up out of power down, i.e. screen saver, this is a pain, as I like to keep the display off time quite short (10mins) as two of these monitors suck some juice. And create a lot of heat, I’m sure I’m getting a tan using the two.

    The second issue is, about 1 out of 20 power ups (from the screen saver), one or the other screen powers up with what looks like only every second pixel active, it looks like one of the DVI signals is not displayed, to fix this you have to switch off and then on again the monitor with the issue.

    I also posted details of the USB problem with the 3007 to the Dell site last year, it was also blocked and never posted, I think this should be made known to others, that the posts are filtered, if don’t speak well enough about the product and your comments are blocked, not a very balanced source.

    Regards,
    Darren

  27. glock May 18, 2008 at 12:17 pm #

    Wow , it’s been a long time since I’ve checked back here.

    romazicon, I should have kept posting but I was under the gun production wise hence spent my “spare time ” dealing with Dell AND Apple as I got a bum MacPro as well.
    I ended up swapping out the 1st 3008 for another that was back ordered so it took a 3 weeks to get the 2nd one and it was the same as the first. Lousy inconsistent display across the panel.
    I was waiting desperately for the30″ NEC MultiSync LCD3090WQXi, but it wasn’t available till too late for me , so I’m stuck with the Dell, and unhappy.

    Darren speaks of screen corruption on start up I get it one out of 5 times and up till now thought the culprit was the new video card in the new 8 core MacPro’s…. As have others with the new Macs AND Apples tech support. Replacing the computer immediatley, solved the problem the frequency went from 1 in 5 starts to 1 in 20 now is back around 1 in 5-8—-I’m about sick of being a frickin beta tester for Dell, apple, and ATI.(ATI Radeon HD 2600 XTx is the card installed) I bought this stuff to INCREASE my productivity!
    Anyway I’m glad you got one that meets your needs, Dell has not gotten back to re: the current screen corruptions
    but I’ll stay on them till it gets resolved.

  28. romazicon May 19, 2008 at 1:34 am #

    Tough luck, Glock. As an early adopter of tech gadgets, I’ve had my share of lemons and bad investments and so I can empathize. While I’m not a big Dell fan as a rule, having owned my 3008 for nearly 2 months now, it continues to run well for me. I have experienced screen corruption one time, otherwise, the monitor has been reliable. I calibrate weekly and continue to be pleased with my output. As before, it’s not as good as my Eizo but for the money I paid for it, it has more than met my expectations.

    With that said, since I do a lot of video mastering on Blu-Ray, I work primarily off a PC workstation since Macs aren’t Blu-Ray capable yet. I also exclusively use Nvidia products as I’ve had too many problems with ATI in the past. With my setup, I haven’t experienced any of the negative issues posted so far.

    Anyway, hang in there because it is possible for the 3008 to perform well and maybe the 3rd time’s the charm.

  29. DellFan May 28, 2008 at 12:45 pm #

    I bought this 30” lcd tv. What is the normal distance between your eyes and the 30? screen wearing a strong glasses? It’s really important for me.
    Are there any problems with this distance when wearing strong glasses?

  30. romazicon May 28, 2008 at 1:58 pm #

    Dellfan,

    Your question was already answered on the Feb 14th posting.

  31. Goof June 28, 2008 at 4:33 am #

    Great thread, this. Thanks to all the above posters for their info and opinons

    Can any 3008 owners oblige with a pic of the scaler at work?

    For why: I’m an ex-graphics pro with old eyes. (Yes, kids, staring at all kinds of screens from the most expensive LaCies to laptop LCDs for 14 hrs/day WILL damage your eyes)

    Because I now need to wear glasses, I’m thinking about buying a pair of 3008s for home and work studios, so I need them to calibrate properly and consistently AND I also mainly want to run the monitor/s at LOW (down to a typical 19″ 1280×1024 ) resolution/s.

    Will I get accceptable results? Over to you..!

  32. Grant Gochnauer June 29, 2008 at 8:01 am #

    Goof,

    The scalar works pretty well but I wouldn’t recommend using it for day to day work. Things aren’t as crisp. I’d say for games it’s great but regular desktop applications the text isn’t as sharp is running at the native resolution.

    That being said, if you run the monitor at half the native res: 1280×1024 I hear the results are much better. I’ll also say this is probably the best 30″ monitor to get if you want 30″ and aren’t planning on running at the native res.

    -Grant

  33. romazicon June 29, 2008 at 11:12 pm #

    I agree with Grant. I occasionally have to run at non-native resolutions and it’s always obvious to me even though the 3008′s scaler does a credible job. I also agree that if you must run at a non-native resolution, 1280×1024 is better than anything else.

  34. ChrisMiz July 1, 2008 at 8:31 am #

    Would you suggest this monitor for a gaming console, i.e. for a PS3/Xbox360 in HD? Would it make sense?

    I am not worried about the price… I’m just interested how much use it would have as a Gaming Monitor.

  35. Riyad Kalla July 1, 2008 at 9:04 am #

    Chris,
    If you were going to drop this much on a monitor for just gaming, why not use that cash on an awesome 42″ Plasma or LCD?

    Or is the 30″ size what you want? In that case, god… I really can’t imagine this being a *bad* gaming display ;)

  36. ChrisMiz July 1, 2008 at 10:16 am #

    It’s the 30″ I want… :) .

    Would it just be a waste of spaceon the screen? Seeing as the picture would run at 1080p/i which would on cover roughly 60% of he total screen?

  37. Riyad Kalla July 1, 2008 at 10:32 am #

    I believe the monitor would just upscale the 1920×1080 image it was getting, which will likely still look “fantastic”, or there abouts ;)

    I’m sure from the monitor’s control panel there are other “fill” settings, for non-scaling display, stretch, etc. You can probably just leave it at whatever the default scale setting is (which is probably to fill the screen).

    Guys correct me if I’m wrong.

  38. ChrisMiz July 1, 2008 at 10:47 am #

    Thanks Riyad,

    I don’t know why I didn’t think about that?

    I would think that you are probably right about the upscaling. I was thinking (oddly) that the picture would just be like a full hd movie playing on a media player on my PC…

    …This would explain it better:

    ‘Quote Blog’: Playing 1080p content is like a wet dream on this. Playing that in 1:1 mode only takes up like 60% of the screen space which is CRAZY so I can literally have a 1080p movie playing and a full web browser window open next to it all on the same screen

    Such as that.

  39. ChrisMiz July 1, 2008 at 10:48 am #

    Like he said… it was playin 1:1, but with upsaling, it could play say 1:1.5 etc.

    I think I understand now, thanks Riyad.

  40. Riyad Kalla July 1, 2008 at 10:49 am #

    No problem, I think the end result is that you are going to end up with 30″ of gorgeous infront of your eyes ;)

  41. razor July 29, 2008 at 7:14 pm #

    Has anyone checked out the Gateway 30 inch model? I am trying to decide between Gateway and Dell 3008. Wondering you could share any insights into the Gateway model.

  42. msuk January 2, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    All,

    I recently purchased the 3008WFP Rev 2 and so far I am not pleased. I am using a Nvidia GT220 card and running the screen at the native resolution. I am finding the text font sometimes has a thinge of red/green and this is making reading text in say outlook very hard. I have to really stare at the screen to read. Also the colours are not pleasing to the eye. I dont have a calibration device and not sure what to do now. I have tried a icc profile from the tftcentral website but this has made no difference. I have spoken with Dell are they are happy to replace the screen with a refurbished one NOT a brand new one :(

    Also sometimes when I power the screen up everything looks fine but other times I power up the font has this red/green thinge any ideas?

  43. romazicon January 3, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    That’s not been my experience with the 3008 as my monitor is still performing well after nearly 2 years. I calibrate mine weekly for professional reasons and generally I don’t have to do much because the monitor’s output has been that good. I suspect your unit is defective. If you’re within your return period, you should return it. If not, that’s too bad, although you should probably take the refurbished unit and insist that they pay the return freight since your model is defective. Tell them that you will continue to send every unit they send back if the refurbished unit has even a single scratch or fails to work “perfectly.” As long as the unit you get has no physical blemishes and works to your satisfaction and is covered by a full warranty (3 years), you should be fine. Just my 2 cents.

  44. msuk January 5, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    Hello Romazicon,

    Thanks for your feedback, you say you calibrate yours weekly would you have a icc profile I could try out?

    Thanks

  45. romazicon January 8, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    Hi, I’m on vacation right now but send me your e-mail address and I can send you an icc profile when I return home.

  46. msuk January 10, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Hello

    My addy is sukhraj@mudhars.com I have also experimented this weekend using xrite calibration tool and i have the monitoring looking better then before but still have a red/green thinge around fonts :(

  47. romazicon January 11, 2010 at 3:02 am #

    I’m back home next weekend and I can send you an icc profile although I’m not sure it will do you any good. I calibrate using xrite products as well and my 3008 has calibrated without a hitch each time. I believe the problem you’re having is due to a defective unit. While I’ve had great success with my 3008, I’ve heard enough complaints from other people that makes me believe Dell is utilizing components (ie lcd panels) from various sources resulting in inconsistent quality which is a shame.

    • msuk January 24, 2010 at 5:18 am #

      Hello,

      I was wondering if you could send me your profile along with the settings for R,G,B Contrast and Brightness.

      I managed to get a new monitor revision A03. :)

      Also do you use cleartype? I am only getting the red/green tinge when cleartype is switched on in Win7. Have a look at this:

      http://en.community.dell.com/forums/p/19313268/19639541.aspx#19639541

  48. Hipolito M. Wiseman June 15, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    Interesting. 60″ LCD TV has the best depth for the price IMO.

  49. Sony KDL37ex503 September 29, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am relatively certain I?ll be informed a lot of new stuff right right here! Best of luck for the next!

  50. best windows optimizers| December 16, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I find It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to offer something again and aid others like you aided me.

Leave a Reply


− 2 = 5